Skip to content

Meet the Team

Executive Committee

The Piedmont Legacy Trails Executive Committee is made up of 3 full-time staff members at Piedmont Triad Regional Council and Piedmont Land Conservancy that oversee the day to day programing of PLT.  

Jesse Day

Piedmont Triad Regional Council, Planning Director

Jesse manages land use, bicycle, pedestrian, transportation, watershed, open space, and parks and outdoor recreation planning projects on behalf of member jurisdictions in the 12-County Piedmont Triad. He is also a bicyclist and enjoys teaching bicycle education classes as a volunteer for Bicycling in Greensboro. Jesse received a B.S. from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in Troy, NY and a Masters Degree in Transportation Planning from the State University of New York at Albany.

Abby Draut

Piedmont Legacy Trails Coordinator

Abby is an avid outdoorswoman that enjoys exploring all the beautiful landscapes that North Carolina has to offer. After completing her Bachelors Degree in PR & Advertising from Sam Houston State University, Abby moved her life to North Carolina to attend UNCG to obtain her Masters Degree in Parks and Recreation Management from UNCG. Abby looks forward to engaging and connecting communities with the trails in effort to make the spaces an even larger part of the piedmont community identity.

Palmer McIntyre

Piedmont Land Conservancy, Conservation Planner

Palmer first joined the Piedmont Land Conservancy in 1996 as the Program Manager, and has held various positions since then, including Executive Director, Board Member, and now, as a part-time Conservation Planner. Palmer has a B.A. in Comparative Politics from Wesleyan University (CT) and a Masters of Regional Planning from UNC-CH. She has been serving as Coordinator for the Great Trails State Coalition and as Director for NC Year of the Trail.

Steering Committee

The Piedmont Legacy Trails Steering Committee is made up of staff and volunteers involved in trail advocacy or construction from out 12 county footprint. Meetings happen quarterly, one of those meetings being the Piedmont Legacy Trails Summit. The Steering committee gathers to share updates from their organizations, learn about new funding sources and resources for trails. Want to join us? Become a Steering Committee Member today by emailing

  • Nolan Carter, Trails & Open Space Coordinator, Alamance Parks and Haw River Trail Coordinator
  • Brian Baker, Alamance Parks and Rec
  • Jillian Medlin, Executive Director of the Caswell County Chamber of Commerce
  • Cary Kanoy, Roadies and Dirties of Davidson County  
  • Chris Phelps, Tourism-Recreation Investment Partnership 
  • Paul Moore, Davie County Recreation & Parks
  • Jake Easter, President and Founder of Forsyth Off Road Biking Association 
  • Benjamin Woeber, Transportation Project Planner 
  • Matthew Burczyk, Transportation Principal Planner 
  • Sarah Keely, Environmental Project Planner Winston Salem
  • Katherine Garner, Kernersville Town Planner
  • Ernie Pages, Kernersville Parks and Rec 



  • Roger Bardsley, Mountains-to-Sea Trail   
  • Elizabeth Jernigan, City of Greensboro  
  • Bill Bruce, Town of Oak Ridge  
  • David Craft, Uwharrie Trail Volunteer 
  • Mark Gatehouse, Piedmont Fat Tire Society 
  • Criag McKinney, Greensboro DOT/ Greensboro MPO 
  • Christopher Horrigan, Guilford County Parks & Recreation  
  • Dabney Sanders, Downtown Greenway  
  • Lee Tillery, High Point Parks & Recreation  
  • Matt Wallace, Guilford County Parks  & Recreation  
  • Dabney Sanders, Action Greensboro: Downtown Greenway Project Manager
  • Savanah Heath, Montgomery County Economic Development Director
  • Steve Chase, Uwharrie Trail Blazers
  • Kim Anderson, Uwharrie Trail Blazers
  • Mary Joan Pugh, Trails/Natural Heritage Coordinator
  • Anna Wheeler, Dan River Basin Association
  • Lindsay Pegg, Rockingham County TDA 
  •  Tory Mabe, Stokes County Economic Development
  • Daniel White, Surry Parks & Recreation  
  • Bill Blackley, Elkin Valley Trails Association
  • Jason Taylor, Elkin Valley Trails Association
  • David Moxely, Yadkin County Board of Commissioners
  • Caleb Poplin, Parks and Rec 
  • Palmer McIntyre, Conservation Planner, Piedmont Land Conservancy
  • Abby Draut, Piedmont Legacy Trails 
  • Jesse Day, Regional Planning Director  
  • Dawn Vallieres, RPO 
  • Roger Bardsley, MST Trail Volunteer
  • Harry Clapp, NC Rail Trails
  • Bryce Mahoney, Carolina Climbers Coalition 
  • Crystal Cockman, Three Rivers Land Trust 
  • Sam Little, State Trails Grant Manager