What is Piedmont Legacy Trails?

Piedmont Legacy Trails is an ongoing project to promote trails and connectivity across the Piedmont Triad as a regional trail network. Trails are a great way for people to enjoy nature and improve their mental and physical health while also being beneficial to local economies and the environment. When people get outside and experience nature they are healthier, happier, and more likely to protect the places that they love.

Mission Statement:

Piedmont Legacy Trails advances regional connections and branding of trails through technical assistance, education, and resource support for trail projects throughout our region.

How was Piedmont Legacy Trails Created?

The Piedmont Land Conservancy (PLC) and the Piedmont Triad Regional Council (PTRC) along with representatives from surrounding counties have collaborated to establish Piedmont Legacy Trails to help brand the Piedmont Triad as a trails destination.

The 12 counties that Piedmont Triad Legacy Trails includes are Surry, Stokes, Rockingham, Caswell, Yadkin, Forsyth, Guilford, Alamance, Davie, Davidson, Randolph, and Montgomery.

This map represents those 12 counties that make up the Piedmont Triad, and the areas that Piedmont Legacy Trails will cover!

Finding a Trail Near You

Our region is home to hundreds of great existing trails. Piedmont Legacy Trails’s main focus is connecting and emphasizing those trails that already exist.

If you are new to the area, visiting, or just looking for some exciting places to explore, it is important to be able to find trails in your area that are accessible and will provide the experience you are looking for. In this region, there are many amazing opportunities to get outside and enjoy nature.

Please visit our interactive storyboard map below! It can navigate you to existing and planned trails in the Piedmont Triad.

Interactive Map

Here are some other helpful websites to help you locate trails in the area:
City of Greensboro Trails
All Trails
Mountain Bike Project
Hiking Project
Trail Run Project

More Info
Check out our storyboard to learn more about this effort.